Charitable Trust

HOPE not hate

Voter Registration 2017

The 2017 local elections will be held on Thursday 4 May 2017.

They will take place across Great Britain, with elections to English, Scottish, and Welsh councils, as well as elections for the newly created English Regional Mayors. HOPE not hate is running a Voter Registration awareness campaign to ensure under-represented social groups and communities have a voice. Below is all the information you need.

The 2017 local elections will be held on Thursday 4 May

Q1. What happens on 4 May?

A1. On 4 May there will be:

  • County Council elections in Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Cumbria, Derbyshire, Devon, Dorset, East Sussex, Essex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Hertfordshire, Kent, Lancashire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Norfolk, North Yorkshire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Somerset, Staffordshire, Suffolk, Surrey, Warwickshire, West Sussex and Worcestershire
  • Elections for Regional Mayors to represent combined authorities created part of devolution deals giving them additional powers and funding in Cambridgeshire and Peterborough, Greater Manchester, Liverpool City Region, Tees Valley, West of England and West Midlands
  • Elections to the Unitary Authorities of Cornwall, Durham, Isle of Wight, Isles of Scilly, Northumberland, Shropshire and Wiltshire and the Metropolitan Boroughs of Doncaster
  • Elections for all the 32 Scottish local authorities
  • Elections for all the 22 Welsh local authorities

Q2. Who can vote in these elections?

A2. British, Commonwealth and EU nationals can vote in these elections. The voting age in England and Wales is 18, while in Scotland is 16.

Q3. When is the Voter Registration Deadline?

A3. 13 April in England and Wales and 17 April in Scotland

Q4. How can I register to vote?

A4. You can register online at It takes just a few minutes. Make sure you have your National Insurance number handy.

Q5. Where can I find more information?

A5. For more information go to

| top | back | home |